I take this opportunity to express my deepest sense of gratitude to Prof. Devendra Kumar for his most inspiring and excellent guidance throughout the course of this research work. It has been a great privilege to work under his able guidance. Without their guidance as a great mentor, this work would not have been possible.

I am also thankful to my research progress evaluation committee (RPEC) Prof. Om Parkash and Dr. Pradip Kumar Roy and Prof. S. P. Singh for their kind cooperation during the course of this work. I want to express my deep sense of respect and personal gratitude to Prof. S. P. Singh, who always encouraged me and assisted me whenever it needed and with whom I have expanded my studies in touch with the microwave electronics. His awe-inspiring personality, kind cooperation and constant encouragement have been impetus behind this work. I would like to thanks Prof. Om Parkash for his constant guidance and as well as for his whole hearted support in completing my thesis work. He believed in me and constantly supported me in my hard times.

I would like to thanks Prof. Rajeev Prakash, In-Charge, Central Instrument Facility Centre and his team members for providing all the characterization facilities on time with precision, without which the completion of this work was not possible. I would also like to sincerely thank Dr. M. K. Meshram for providing antenna measurement facility and Dr. Shail Upadhyay for DTA/TG measurements.

I am also pleased to acknowledge the encouragement of teaching faculty Prof. R. K. Sinha, Prof. Ram Pyare and thanks to all other respected faculty members of the Department.

I would also like to mention my deep regards and sincere thanks to Mr. Pankaj Tripathi for his consistent support, cooperation and fruitful discussions during experimental times. Collaboration with him in a part of the work reported in the thesis is gratefully acknowledged. I would also like to thank Mr. Bhagirath Sahu for making me familiar with the HFSS software and cooperated while antenna fabrication and measurement.

Now, it's time to thank my dear fellow colleagues and seniors at IIT (BHU) namely Ms. Deepshikha Shekhawat, Ms. Neera Singh, Ms. Suruchi Poddar, Ms. Akansha Mishra, Ms. Meena Yadav, Mr. Prem Prakash, Mr. Khagesh Tanwar, Mr. Deepankar, Mr. Bhattacharjee, Mr. Sukhdev Pandey, Dr. Manoj Gupta, Ms. Sitashree Banerjee, and Mr. Rahul Singh for

their nice company during my stay at the institute. I thank all my beloved friends across the

globe for sharing my happy and sorrow moments at all times.

I would like to sincerely thank to Technical staff at IIT (BHU) namely Mr. Ashish Tripathi,

Mr. B. Singh, Mr. I. A. Khan, Mr. Shailendra, Mr. Pawan Kumar for their help all the times. I

also extend my sincere thanks to all the supporting staff of the department for their kind help

whenever I required.

There are no words to explain the support from my lovely and caring parents Dr. C.S. Prasad

and Smt. Noonuwati Devi and it's my gratitude to not to forget their hard work and struggle

throughout my life. Without their love and help it would be difficult for me to stand up to this

height. Success is not possible without the blessings of my respected grand-parents. I would

also sincerely express my gratitude to my brother and all my loving family members for their

encouragement and immense patience during my studies. The source of happiness is always

from my family and I pray to the Almighty for their wellness and growth in a good manner.

I would like to express my sincere gratitude to the persons who have supported me in all the

sense during this journey and given invaluable help in their own way.

Lastly I would like to thank Almighty, for having made everything possible by giving me

strength and courage to do this work.

Date:

Place: Varanasi

(Preeti Kumari)

vii