## **ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS**

I take this opportunity to express my sincere thanks and gratitude beyond words to my supervisors, Dr. Kausik Chattopadhyay and Professor N. C. Santhi Srinivas for their consistent help, encouragement and valuable discussions during the entire period of my research work. I would also like to express my deepest sense of gratitude to my revered Guru Prof. Vakil Singh, under whose able guidance the present research work was conceived. I would not have been able to complete the thesis without their utmost involvement and invaluable efforts. They motivated me to pursue research problem and the need for persistent effort to accomplish the goal. I am truly indebted to them. They are the real definition of a best teacher being friendly and behind for all problems of not only mine but all the students.

I sincerely thank Prof. N. K. Mukhopadhyay, Head of the Department of Metallurgical Engineering and the former Head Prof. R. K. Mandal and Prof. G. V. S. Sastry for providing all the research facilities to successfully accomplish my research in the Department. Besides my supervisors, I would like to thank other members of RPEC: Dr. R. Manna, Department of Metallurgical Engineering and Prof. A. P. Harsha, Department of Mechanical Engineering, for their insightful comments and encouragement. I have deep sense of gratitude to Dr. Joysurya Basu, Dr. G.S. Mahobia and all other faculty members of the Department of Metallurgical Engineering, IIT (BHU), for their cooperation and inspiration.

I am also thankful to Dr. D.D.N. Singh, NML Jamshedpur for valuable suggestions related to corrosion study, Prof. I. Samajdar, IIT Bombay for residual stress and EBSD analysis, Dr. Partha Ghoshal, DMRL Hyderabad for cross-sectional TEM sample preparation, and Prof. K. Mondal, IIT Kanpur for DSC analysis.

I am thankful to my all friends, Vikas, Vishwas, Arun, Himanshu, Vivek, Dhanan-jay, Manish, Yagnesh, Ankitendran, Rahul, Piyush, Chandrashekhar and seniors Manish K. Singh, Santhosh Alla and Raj Bahadur Singh for their constant encouragement and making joyful and memorable moments at IIT (BHU), Varanasi. My special thanks to Dr. Jitendra Kumar Singh, Dr. G. Sudhakar Rao, Dr. Sanjeev Rana and Dr. Preeti Verma for

their consistent support. I am also thankful to all my junior students of M.Tech and PhD of our group from 2013 to 2018 for their constant support during my research work.

I am also thankful to all the Lab and workshop staff specially Shri Sushil Ji, Mr Balwant Ji and Mr Rajnarayan Ji for making fatigue and tensile specimens, Shri Lalit Kumar Singh for transmission electron microscopy, Shri Ashok Kumar Ji for helping in scanning electron microscopy, Shri Samardeep, Shri Deepak, Shri Lal Ji, Shri Anjani, Shri Janardan Dubey Ji, Shri Kamlesh Ji, Shri Minz Ji and all the office staff.I would also like to extend my heartiest thanks to Prof. Rajiv Prakash (Prof.- in-charge, CIFC) and his technical team especially Mr. Girish Sahu, Mr. Nirmal Mallick, Mr. Akhilesh and Mr. Vinay for providing the research facilities.

Last, but not the least, I would like to express my deepest gratitude to my family, my parents Mrs. Sangeeta Pandey and Mr. Vijay Kumar Pandey, for giving my life in the first place, for educating me, for their unconditional support and encouragement to pursue my interest. I would also like to thank my elder brother Mr. Saurabh Pandey and my sister in law Mrs. Sapna Pandey for their constant encouragement and support. I would especially thank my friend Ms. Neera Singh for not only her help throughout my work but also making this journey unforgettable.

I also wish to thank all my friends and the persons whose names have not been mentioned on this piece of paper for extending their cooperation directly or indirectly.

- Vaibhav Pandey