## <u>ACKNOWLEDGEMENT</u>

I, hereby, extend my deepest gratitude to my esteemed supervisor Dr. (Mrs.) Chandana Rath, Assistant Professor, School of Materials Science and Technology, Indian Institute of Technology (B.H.U.), Varanasi, for her constant guidance, encouragement and valuable suggestions. I am indebted to her for being patient with my mistakes and for correcting my small and big lapses throughout my research work. This work could not have been accomplished but for her kind co-operation and generous guidelines. I extend my thanks to the distinguished faculty members of our school: Prof. Dhananjai Pandey, Prof. Rajiv Prakash, Prof. Pralay Maiti, Dr. Akhilesh Kr. Singh, Dr. Chandan Upadhyay and Dr. B. N. Pal for their constant cooperation and encouragement at every stage of my research work.

I am thankful to Dr. S.P. Lochhab, Inter University Accelerator Centre, New Delhi for providing TL facility and support during irradiation experiments. I thank Dr. T. Shripathi, UGC-DAE CSR, Indore for providing XPS facility. My gratitude to Dr. D. Das and Mr. Amit Kumar, UGC-DAE CSR, Kolkata center for providing PAS facility and their assistance. I thank Prof. S.B. Rai, Department of Physics, BHU, for providing PL facility, Prof. O.N. Srivastava, Department of Physics, BHU, for providing TEM facility and Prof. R.K. Singh, Department of Physics, BHU, for providing Raman facility. I also thank Head, Department of Pharmaceutics for providing FTIR facility. I am obliged towards Prof. R.K. Sinha for his assistance.

My heartfelt gratitude to dear seniors and colleagues: Dr. S. P. Singh, Dr. Saurabh Tripathi, Dr. Shuvrajyoti Bhattacharjee, Dr. Anar Singh, Dr. Arun Singh, Dr. J. P. Patel, Dr. P. J. P. Yadav, Dr. (Mrs.) Swati Mohan, Dr. Narendra Singh, Dr. Ravindra Singh Solanki, Dr. Akhilesh Kr. Singh, Dr. Bhavana Gupta, Dr. Abhinav Mishra, Dr. Vimal Kumar Tiwari, Dr. (Mrs.) Leela Jhoshi, Dr. Ashish Kumar, Mr. Rishikesh Pandey, Mr. Pankaj Mohanty, Mr. Karun Jana, Mr. Rajeev Pandey, Dr. (Mrs.) Shardha Singh, Mr. Pappu Kumar, Mr. Uma Shankar, Mr Gopal Ji, Mr. Ashutosh Upadhayay, Mr. Dinesh Patel, Mr. Durgesh, Mr. Jagadish, Ms. Madhu Tiwari, Ms. Priyanka Tiwari and Ms. B. Bharati for their support.

Earnest thanks to all my friends Mr. Arvind Prakash, Mr. Mirgender Kumar, Mr. Sudhir, Mr. Abhinav Srivastava, Mr. Bhism Pratap Singh for the much needed motivation at every stage. I am grateful to the technical and non technical staff of my school for all the cooperation and assistance.

I offer my most heartfelt thanks to my family for their love and unending support throughout the years.

I would like to acknowledge Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), India for providing me financial assistance.

Finally, I thank Almighty God who has supported me at every stage of my life.

(Vinay Pratap Singh)