## ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

I would like to express my highest gratitude to my research supervisors Professor Aarif Jamal for their guidance and continuous cooperation in carrying out this thesis. Furthermore, their stimulating encouragement and precious suggestions instrumented my vision to finalize the shape of this work and allowed me to accomplish the research work independently. I consider myself fortunate to have the opportunity to work under his excellent guidance.

At the outset, I express my deep sense of gratitude to Head, Department of Mining Engineering, IIT (BHU), Varanasi for providing me with all the necessary facilities and support required for research work.

I am thankful to my Research Progress Evaluation Committee (RPEC) members Professor
Om Prakash Sinha and Professor B. K. Shrivastav for their cooperation and giving
suggestions in the improvement of my research work.

I am really grateful for all faculty and supporting staff of the Department of Mining Engineering, IIT (BHU) and other organization helped me in my research work such as; Central Instrument Facility, IIT (BHU), Varanasi; Northern Coalfield Limited, Singrauli; National Thermal Power Corporation Limited, Shaktinagar, Sonebhadra; Health Physics Division, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai; Health Physics Unit, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Uranium Corporation of India Limited, Jaduguda; Indian Council of Medical Research, Department of Health Research, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India; Science & Engineering Research Board, Department of Science & Technology, Government of India; Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India.

Last but not least; I thank the Almighty God for his blessings, without which this research could not be achieved.

Date: (Akhilesh Kumar Yadav)