## Acknowledgements

Foremost, I would like to pay my tribute to the founder of the Banaras Hindu University, Bharat Ratna Mahamana Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviyaji whose thoughts and values encourage students to give their best and contribute to the nation building. I am very thankful and proud of the education I received at the Banaras Hindu University.

I would like to express my heartfelt gratitude to my revered supervisor, Prof. B. Mishra for his continuous support during my Ph.D. study and research, for his patience, motivation, and immense knowledge. His guidance helped me during the time of research and writing of this thesis. Without his supervision and constant help this dissertation would not have been possible.

I wish to express my deepest gratitude to my co-supervisor, Dr. Vikas Kumar. I am profoundly indebted to him for his constant inspiration, valuable suggestions and help which have led to the successful completion of this work.

I am also grateful to Prof. S.K. Singh, Head, Department of Pharmaceutics, Indian Institute of Technology (Banaras Hindu University) and Prof. R.S. Srivastava, (Former Head) for allowing me to use the Departmental facilities for carrying out my research work.

I owe my gratitude to all my respected RPC members Mr. A.K. Srivastava, Dr. Abha Mishra (Biochem Engg.) and all others for their encouragement and insightful comments leading me to the completion of the research work, I would also like to thank all the teachers (Retd.) Prof. J.K. Pandit, (Retd) Prof. P.N. Singh, Prof. Sanjay Singh, Prof. S.K. Shrivastava, Dr. S. Hemlatha, Dr. K. Sairam, Dr. Senthil Raja, Mr. A.N Sahu, Dr. S.K. Mishra, Mrs. Ruchi Chawla, Dr. Prasanta Kumar Nayak, Dr. M.S. Muthu, Dr. Gyan Prakash Modi and Dr. Ashok Maurya.

I take the opportunity to sincerely acknowledge the University Grants Commission, Government of India, New Delhi & MHRD, New Delhi for providing financial support in the form of Research Fellowship that immensely helped me to achieve my goals. I also thank the Department of Biotechnology, Indian Council of Medical Research, New Delhi and IIT (BHU) for awarding me travel grant to attend international conference. I am also grateful to Department of Physics & Department of Chemistry, BHU, for providing the facility of TEM, PXRD, DSC and AFM.

I pay my sincere thanks to Mr. Virendra, Mr. Chotelal, (late), Mr. Ajay Pal, Mr. Nandlal, Mr. Madan, Mr. Upadhya, Mr. Sanjeev, Mr. Yashwant, Mr. Jameel, Mr. Pathak, Mr. Rafeeq, Mr. Kapil, Mr. Arun, Mr. Gopal, Mrs. Saroj Kumari, Mrs. Archana Singh, Ms. Shyamli Ghoshal and all other non-teaching staff of the Department for their assistance and co-operation during the Ph.D. tenure.

I would particularly like to acknowledge the contribution of my batch-mates Anupam Sir, Dr. Dileep Sir, Sanjay, Anshul, Gopal, Devendra, Abhinav, Deepali and Shekhar; and it is not sufficient to express my gratitude with only a few words. They have always been there to motivate me during the hour of hardship and helped me unconditionally throughout the tenure.

I am indeed thankful to have got welcoming and friendly fellow mates Dr. Sundeep, Dr. Ravi, Mr. Gufran, Mr. Gayasuddin, Mrs. Sarita, Ms. Pooja, Mr. Sathish, Mr. Gunjan, Ms. Sheetal, Ms. Manasi, Mr. Sandeep and Mr. Harsh, who were ever ready to provide me with all possible help and they created a happy working environment and foster camaraderie within the laboratory. I am thankful to Mr. Piyoosh Sharmaji for tireless help in thesis compilation.

Amongst the juniors, I would like to thank Naveen, Amitabh, Sukesh, Krishna, Mukesh, Ravindray, Pavan, Prabhash, for their alacrity and support during the tenure

I also acknowledge the warm support extended to me by Dr. Himanshu, Dr. Vijay, Dr. Sudhir and Dr. Vinay. They made my stay at Varanasi a very pleasant and memorable one. I would also like to express my thanks to my supportive seniors: Dr. Rahul Tripathi, Dr. Anuj Garg, Dr. Sanjay Tiwari, Dr. Gireesh Singh, Dr. Madhusmita Mishra, Dr. Pramila Chaubey, Dr. Dali Shukla, Dr. Subhashish Chakraborty, Dr. Satyendra Prasad, Dr. Damiki Laloo, Dr. Rajesh Kumar, Dr. Manish Kumar, Dr. Sanjay Bharti, Dr. Bhagwati Saxena, Dr. Amit Mishra, Dr. Ahint Jain, Dr. Nirupam Das, Dr. Dinesh Patel, Dr. Gulam Hussian and to name a few seniors of the Department who were always there with a helping attitude whenever I was in need.

My heartfelt thanks to all my teachers right from school until now for their keen interest, constant encouragement and wishes for my career.

A loving appreciation is reserved for my siblings (Bhaiya and Didi). Most importantly, none of this would have been possible without the love and patience of my family. My parents to whom this thesis is dedicated to, has been a constant source of love, moral support and strength all these years. I owe my achievement to both of them.

Last but not the least, I pray God for the animals who were mortified for the cause of research and advancement of knowledge. I wish for their soul to rest in peace.

Date:	
	(0.5
Place:	(Nagendra Kumar)