## **ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS**

Were it not for the determination and unflagging commitment, practice, encouragement and synergistic contribution of the remarkable people who assisted me with this thesis, it would have been very difficult to complete my Ph.D. So it is with deep gratitude that I express my appreciation to Prof. S. K. Nagar, Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Banaras Hindu University, for his valuable guidance throughout my research work.

I would like to extend my gratitude to Head of the department, Prof. R. Mahanty for providing me the required facilities and healthy environment to carry out my research work. I extend my thanks to Prof. S. P. Singh, Prof. R. B. Mishra and Dr. R. K. Saket and all the faculty members in the department of Electrical Engineering for their direct or indirect motivation and assistance from different corners during my research work at institute.

I extend my sincere thanks to Mr. A. N. Singh and technical staff of Control Systems Lab for their valuable support and cooperation during my research work.

I would like to extend my special gratitude to (Late) Prof. J. P. Tiwari for his motivation regarding my Ph. D work.

I would like to extend my special gratitude to Prof. S. K. Bharadwaj, Prof. G. P. Rao, Dr. Shyam Kamal and Dr. Shambu N. Sharma for his valuable suggestions regarding my Ph. D work.

I would like to thank UGC, India for providing Rajiv Gandhi National Fellowship. Further, I would like to thank my dearest friends Dr. Sontosh Kumar Vipparthi, Mr. Sheaker Yadav, Dr. Harish Kumar Balaga, Mr. Muralidhar, Dr. Deepak, Mr. Sheaker Yadav, Mr. Amit, Ms. Shalini, Mr. S. K. Varma, P. Naresh, Vijay Babu, M. Raghuram, Dr. Ravi Kumar, Dr. Ramesh, Dr. S. Rao, Mr. Siva, Dr. B. Singh and Dr. S. Murala, and always motivated and stayed with me in good and bad period.

This acknowledgment would be meaningless if I do not thank my parents (Late) D. Shanker, Smt. D. Ramana whose blessing had always bestowed on me. I also like to thank my family members for their moral support.

Kranthi Kumar Deveerasetty