ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

Though only my name appears on the cover of this thesis, many people have contributed to its completion. These pages reflect the support of many generous and inspiring people who contributed in many ways to the success of this study and made this journey an unforgettable experience for me. The list is long, but I would like to express my gratitude to all of them who have encouraged and contributed both academically and emotionally during the tenure of my research. At this moment of accomplishment, first of all I pay my sincere gratitude to my supervisor, Dr. N. K. **Prasad**, for being a constant source of motivation, regular supervision throughout the research work and giving me a chance to accelerate my research skills. His expertise, understanding and patience have added greatly to my research experience. He helped me to overcome crises and finish this dissertation. I am also thankful for his assistance and guidance in improving my writing skills and for constant help by means of productive discussions, showing me how to improve the presentation of work, which will surely be helpful in the future also. I also take this opportunity to express my gratitude to all successive Heads of the Department of Metallurgical Engineering, Prof. R. K. Mandal and Prof. N. K. Mukhopadhyay for providing all the research facilities to successfully accomplish my research in the Department. Besides my supervisor, I would like to thank other RPEC members: Prof. Sandip Chatterji, Department of Metallurgical Engineering and Prof. N. K. Mukhopadhyay, Department of Metallurgical Engineering for their insightful comments and encouragement.

I have deep sense of gratitude to Dr. K. Chattopadhyay, Dr. Vikas Jindal, Dr. R. Manna, Dr. J. Basu surya and Dr. S. D. Yadav and all other faculty members of the Department of Metallurgical Engineering, IIT(BHU) for their cooperation and inspiration.

I wish to express my gratitude to the Dr. K.C. Barrick (materials functionalization), Chemistry Division, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai, Dr. C.L. Prajapat (Magnetic measurements), Technical Physics Division, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai, Mr. S.S. Meena (Mössbauer spectroscopy), Solid State Physics Division, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai, Mr. Ankur sharma (TEM and XPS analysis), Department of metallurgical engineering and materials science, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, Dr. M.S. Muthu and his students (Kausik neogi and M. K. Viswnadh) for the cell culture work, Department of Pharmaceutical Engineering and Technology IIT(BHU).